Blog about using games & gaming technology in all areas of education

Training Teachers to Code


There is a massive need amongst both primary and secondary teachers in the UK for training in coding. Throughout industry in the UK and the USA there is a shortage of programmers, with not enough graduates in Computer science related subjects coming out of University to fill those roles.

The importance of Computer Science was recognised in the Scottish Curriculum for Excellence, first implemented in Scottish Schools in 2010, with skills like games development embedded as an experience and outcome that school children as young as age 9 should experience. More recently English schools have also recognised that computational thinking and coding are vital 21st century skills for all school children. This is a move towards Computer Science and away from Computing being all about the use word processors and spread sheets.

There is now a massive need throughout the UK for training in approaches to teaching computational thinking and coding, as well as training in the various development tools available, since many ICT / Computing teachers can’t program or haven’t done so in years. This means that around the UK, teachers are struggling to find the time to learn about the tools and new skills they need. That is why I think it’s important for FE colleges and HE institutions to look at how they can get involved in providing CPD for teachers in these areas. That is why I have been pushing the idea that West College Scotland should offer CPD on tools like Kodu, TouchDevelop and Scratch.

As part of this I recently hosted a stand at the Scottish Learning Festival (25-26th September 2013), along with other staff from my college, to tell schools leaders and teachers about some of the great tools available for coding and about the training we are offering. SLF is a 2 day event for all types of teachers, it originally started life as a technology show for teachers, but over the years it has grown into a show on everything to do with teaching. There were many stands still to do with various technologies for use in the classroom, but there were also other stands like the very popular zoo in a box and the Tree of knowledge. Overall there were over 150 of the best educational suppliers covering all levels of education, including various councils and the SQA represented.

Bill Gallacher, Martin Barrett, David Renton & Fiona Rushton at SLF2013

Bill Gallacher, Martin Barrett, David Renton & Fiona Rushton at SLF2013

Both days at SLF were busy, but day two was especially busy at it was an in service day for many local teachers. We enjoyed the 2 days of talking to teachers, pupils, councils, HMIe representatives and other educationalists about Kodu, TouchDevelop and our various CPD offerings. We made a number of good contacts who we hope to follow up on, by offering them training.

About a week after SLF I got a surprise e-mail from Microsoft in the USA, presenting me with the 2013 Microsoft MVP Award for Kinect! This award is given to exceptional technical community leaders who actively share their high quality, real world expertise with others. I was awarded it for outstanding contributions in Kinect for Windows technical communities during the past year, which largely revolved around my Kinect educational games which I have released free via my blog. I was particularly pleased with the MVP award as it’s not an education award and as I understand, it is quite rare for an educationalist to win one. I did work in the computing sector for a number of years before moving into teaching, but I am now full time in education and have been for the past 10 years, so my work on Kinect has been largely in my spare time. Although my college have been very supportive of my Kinect work and have given me time to go around local schools demonstrating it to teachers and school pupils.

MVP Award for Kinect

MVP Award for Kinect

As part of becoming an MVP I was invited to the MVP Global Summit in Bellevue & Redmond in Washington State USA from the 18th to 21st of November 2013. I didn’t expect to go to this, but my college have been very supportive and have paid for me to fly out to Seattle for the summit, as well as giving me time off from teaching that week to attend. At it I will get to see first-hand some of the latest technology from Microsoft, including the latest advances in Kinect technology, so I am thrilled to be attending this. Plus getting to go see Microsoft HQ in the states is, I reckon, a computer geeks’ pilgrimage, especially for someone who remembers Windows 3.11 very well. I will blog about my visit to Seattle where I also plan to meet with the TouchDevelop, Kodu and Project Spark development teams.

On Saturday the 26th of October 2013, I continued promoting TouchDevelop by presenting on it at the CAS Scotland Annual conference at the University of Glasgow. TouchDevelop is a great tool for getting high school pupils into coding as its easy enough to be accessible to them, but it still teaches them the basics of programming. It also engages them as they can very quickly and easily see an app they have created running on a mobile phone or tablet. I was amazed at the great turnout at this event, considering it started at 9am on a Saturday. There were around 250 teachers from both the Primary and High School sectors in attendance. My TouchDevelop workshop was full to the brim with 40 to 50 teachers in attendance. I gave them an overview of TouchDevelop and the benefits of using it to teach coding. I did a live demonstration of creating a simple game app in approximately 5 minutes and then let them have a go at creating an app. I actually ran out of my TouchDevelop games based curriculum to hand out, but luckily you can download it for free from the TouchDevelop website.

CAS Scotland Annual Conference 2013

CAS Scotland Annual Conference 2013

After promoting training in coding at SLF and CAS in Scotland, the first training sessions that I was booked for was perhaps surprisingly in Norway. The link with Norway was thanks to the brilliant Microsoft Partners in Learning network, which gave me the opportunity in January this year to attend a 24 hour appathon at Microsoft’s London offices. At it I met a couple of amazing teachers from Norway who were using MineCraft in the classroom to teach Viking history. I really clicked with them and we kept in touch throughout the year. We even ran a joint Scotland / Norway project later in the year, in conjunction with Scotland’s Colleges, which involved students from both countries working in teams to create their ideal learning environment within a shared virtual world inside Minecraft. The Norwegian guys (Øystein Imsen and Bjørn Sør-Reime Erga) wanted me to come over and train teachers in TouchDevelop. They have started their own think tank / teacher training company called PedSmia and with backing from Microsoft in Norway, they paid to get me over for 3 days of training. I travelled over on Sunday the 3rd of November 2013 and stayed with my friend Øystein at his house in Oslo.

TouchDevelop Teacher Training in Kongsberg, Norway

TouchDevelop Teacher Training in Kongsberg, Norway

On the Monday we travelled to Kongsberg where we met up with a group of teachers for TouchDevelop training. The plan is to train a small group who will then go out to Schools in Norway and spread the word about TouchDevelop. I spent the morning session going over TouchDevelop and giving a live demonstration of it and then in the afternoon the teachers worked in pairs to produce apps. Given the amount of time they had, they came up with some great concepts and created the beginnings of some really nice apps. One of the big advantages of TouchDevelop is that you can actually develop and test apps, that you create, instantly on mobile devices such as smart phones and tablets, all that is required is a device with an HTML5 browser. Two of the teachers tried this out at the end of the day and they had their apps running on an iPad and an iPhone, which really excited them. This is something I think will get students really excited about programming using TouchDevelop, because apps they create in School or College can be saved to the cloud and they can continue working on them at home on their tablets or smartphones, as well as being able to show off their apps to their friends on their own device.

TouchDevelop Apps created by Teachers

TouchDevelop Apps created by Teachers

On Tuesday we continued with the same group of teachers and this time we did a day of training on Kodu. Kodu is something most of them were already familiar with, but we looked at some of the more advanced features of Kodu and the Norwegian guys went over approaches to using Kodu in the classroom and their plans for getting Kodu & TouchDevelop out to Schools in Norway.

Kodu Training

Kodu Training

On Tuesday evening, I presented on TouchDevelop and demonstrated my xGames & Kinect Games in Oslo, at an open evening to teachers, parents and school children. The following day I visited Microsoft HQ in Oslo and repeated the same presentation to a group of Microsoft technical staff and technical evangelists. Ivar Berg (Microsoft Partners in Learning Manager Norway) gave me a tour of Microsoft Offices in Oslo, where I got the chance to try out a nap pod ;).

Microsoft HQ in Oslo Norway

Microsoft HQ in Oslo Norway

Before I went home Øystein took me to the Viking museum in Oslo, which was an amazing experience. It contains Viking Longboats and other artefacts, some of which were around 1300 years old. Many of the boats are deteriorating badly and this may be the last generation of Norwegians who get to see them. Overall I had a great experience in Norway and I hope to return again soon. It’s always great to work with the highly motivated and inspirational teachers who form Microsoft’s Partners in Learning.

Viking Longboat

Viking Longboat

I got back to Glasgow about 10pm on Wednesday night and I was teaching at 9am the following morning. However it was all worthwhile as I got an email from Microsoft on Thursday saying I had been selected to be part of the very first class of Microsoft Innovative Expert Educators. The email said I had been selected to be one of 250 educators selected from 23,000 applicants from 150 countries. Microsoft’s Innovative Educator Expert is an exclusive one year program that celebrates educators across the world who use technology to transform education. I am one of a ten strong team from the United Kingdom, however I am the only Scot in the group, although Ollie Bray teaches in Scotland and so perhaps counts as an honorary Scot J. I am also the only FE lecturer in the group, with the rest being High School teachers. As part of the award I will get a trip to the Microsoft in Education Global Forum on March 11th to 14th 2014 in Barcelona, where I will get to network, share ideas and work with the other Expert Educators from around the globe. Again I would never have known about this program was it not for my involvement with Microsoft’s Partners in Learning network.

To round off the week, on Friday the 8th of November, I got to attend the extremely fancy and glittering awards ceremony which is the 2013 Scottish Qualifications Authority (SQA) Star Awards. The ceremony is to reward and recognise inspirational achievements and commitment from individuals, schools, colleges and training organisations across Scotland. We had applied before the summer for this award, when we were still Reid Kerr College, but I only found out recently that we had been shortlisted in the top 3 in the innovation category for my work on and use of xGames, Kinect Games and our use of TouchDevelop in the classroom to teach mobile app creation.

The ceremony was hosted by media personality Kaye Adams of Loose Women fame and I had no idea what our chances were. The evening consisted of a lovely 3 course meal and some fantastic entertainment from some amazing School pupils from across Scotland, which including dancers, singers and musicians.

We were half way through the awards and our category was up next, at which point they took a musical interlude, which although was very nice, it upped the tension :-). However we shouldn’t have worried as following the break, West College Scotland was announced as the winners for innovation. Bill Gallacher (Head of Computing Paisley Campus) and I collected the award and posed for photos. It was also great to see our principal Audrey Cumberford in attendance to witness us collect the award.

SQA Star Awards 2013

SQA Star Awards 2013

No rest though, this weekend I am learning Project Spark, a great new development tool which is about to launch on XBOX1, XBOX360 and Windows 8. I am presenting on Project Spark at the Skills Show at the Birmingham NEC next week with Lee Stott from Microsoft, before flying out to Seattle on Saturday for the MVP summit.

West College Scotland will start offering CPD in coding with a series of 3 twilight courses on Kodu, running at our Paisley Campus from 4pm to 6pm on 20/1/2014, 17/2/2014 and 17/3/2014. Email me at david.renton@wcs.ac.uk if you are interested in attending. If you teach in Renfrewshire it will also be on the CPD catalogue for Renfrewshire very soon.

6 responses

  1. I think it would be great if more teachers knew how to code, just get them off of microsoft. That is part of the problem. Get them to open source!

    November 11, 2013 at 9:09 pm

    • Have a look at Touchdevelop totally free web based, runs on android, iOS and windows and it is actually from Microsoft, you wouldn’t see that from Apple.

      November 11, 2013 at 9:11 pm

  2. This is awesome, I will recommend this to my teachers friend.

    November 23, 2013 at 5:43 pm

  3. I agree with samantha that it would be great if more teachers knew how to code, but learning code is not easy.

    December 12, 2013 at 7:04 am

  4. i really appreciate for this post. thanks for sharing these type of information.

    January 7, 2014 at 9:28 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,185 other followers