Kinect Magic Cursor version 1.2 with source code


Kinect Magic Cursor allows you to use Kinect connected to a Windows 7 pc to control the windows mouse pointer and perform left clicks. Once you install the software you simply use your right hand to control the mouse pointer by standing in front of Kinect and moving your hand. To simulate a left mouse button click you just raise your left hand above your shoulder. It certainly could have plenty of uses, an interactive presentation projected onto a whiteboard or wall, which could then be controlled by a user standing in front of it controlling it with their arms is one use and I’m sure you can think of many other uses.

Release 1.2 comes with source code after I had a few requests after the last release.

Kinect Magic Cursor

Keyboard Controls to change application settings

ESC key Quits the application.
K key toggles between kinect and mouse control.
LEFT-ARROW & RIGHT-ARROW keys change the scale, which is basically how far you need to move your hand in each direction to move the pointer to the edge of the screen.
UP-ARROW & DOWN-ARROW keys allow you to adjust the angle of the Kinect camera.
SPACE key freezes the video feed into the application, which is useful if you are running on a slow PC.
S key starts the video feed again.

You will need a Windows7 PC, Kinect SDK v1.5 and XNA4 runtime installed and obviously a Kinect (XBOX360 Kinect or Windows Kinect).

Click here to download Kinect Magic Cursor version 1.2 installer.

Click here to download Kinect Magic Cursor version 1.2 source code.

Once you run the application you can minimise it and it will still function, however you will need to click back into it to exit it and stop the Kinect mouse simulation from running.

22 thoughts on “Kinect Magic Cursor version 1.2 with source code

  1. kinect magic cursor\BallGame old\BallGame oldContent\MagicWall Content.contentproj : error : The project file ‘C:\Users\User\Desktop\magiccursor v1_2 with source (1)\kinect magic cursor\BallGame old\BallGame oldContent\MagicWall Content.contentproj’ cannot be opened.

    I’m using Visual Studio 2010, and I’m getting this error when I open the project, how do I fix this?

    1. Ronan this is what I use and it opens without problem. MS Visual C# 2010 express edition (although it should open in pro too) with XNA4 full installed (not just the xna4 runtime) and Kinect SDK v1.5. The only file you should be opening is called magicwall.sln which is the project file, but you obviously need the whole zip unarchived. As it is a XNA4 project it may appear like its a game but it is not, it does what it says it allows you to move the mouse cursor with your hand. Even if you can’t load the project if you download and run the installer you should be able to use it, as long as you have Kinect SDK and xna4 installed.

      1. Also can I confirm that when you connect Kinect to your PC you are not trying to power it purely from the USB port. You must plug Kinect into a mains plug also or it will not function with a widows pc.

  2. It seems I’ve not got XNA4 full installed. I’ll try that and report back.

    I’m powering my Kinect from the wall socket, not just via USB.

    Lastly, I looked through the source files of the zip available for download, and it contains a game called magicwall, rather than a solution to control the mouse for desktop use. Is this intentional, or am I getting something wrong?

    I think I posted an identical comment to this somewhere else on your blog, but I can’t find it ;(

  3. Hi,
    I have installed everything that is required and run Magic Cursor.
    The up and down arrow key does move the Kinect, but when I press “k” nothing happens, the Kinect does not move the cursor with my movements. I am running Windows7 32bit and using the Xbox Kinect. Is there something I may have missed?

    For the XNA4 that is required I downloaded Microsoft XNA Framework Redistributable 4.0 from the Microsoft site, is that the XNA4 that is required?

    Thank you

    1. I think I emailed you direct about this. Please download the Kinect Games all in one installer, which will install everything you need to run the games. If you are getting into the game and the video feed is showing then that should mean everything is installed.

      You need XNA4, but you also need Kinect SDK v1.5 or v1.6 depending on which version of my magic cursor you have downloaded. This is why I strongly suggest you download my all in one installer which installs all my games (including the magic cursor) and everything you need to run them. The installer is large, however that isn’t because of the games, its because it includes the full Kinect SDK which you do need.

      When you run the game you do NOT need to press K, you only press K to turn off the Kinect control, by default kinect control is on.

      Can you see the video feed???

      Regards,
      David.

      1. Hi David, thanks for the reply.
        I will download the all in one installer and give it another try.

        About the video feed… yes I did get a window with a video feed, pressing “k” freezes the image and pressing it again starts it again.
        Thanks

      2. I uninstalled everything that I installed previously and installed the All In One Installer but I have the same problem as before, I also tried a few of the games but still no motion detection. I will install it on another PC and see if I have the same problem.

      3. You are running it on Windows 7 correct??? In the games can you see the live video feed? If so then the installer is correctly installed. You are standing about 1.5 metres away from Kinect? Also try the up and down arrow keys to make sure the camera can see you.

        Last suggestion is make sure you are not in natural light, Kinect does not work in natural light. I tried it once in a conservatory and it didn’t work at all.

  4. Oh my goodness! Incredible article dude! Many thanks, However I am
    going through issues with your RSS. I don’t understand the reason why I am unable to subscribe to it. Is there anyone else getting the same RSS issues? Anyone that knows the solution will you kindly respond? Thanx!!

  5. Simply want to say your article is as astounding.
    The clearness in your post is simply spectacular and i could assume you’re an expert on this subject. Well with your permission let me to grab your feed to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please carry on the rewarding work.

  6. Hello I am trying to open with visual studio 2012 but is not compatible. How can I fix it ?
    I want change righhand with other parts of joints

    1. That’s because it was built in studio 2010. Download Visual C# 2010 Express edition install it and then install XNA4 + Kinect SDK 1.6 and then you will be able to open the project without problem.

Leave a Reply

